[SOLVED] Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Management Studio Crash when opening a new query window

At times, when opening a new query window, or selecting top 1000 rows, Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Management Studio would crash with the following error message “SQL Server Management Studio has stopped working“:

SQL Server Management Studio has stopped working

SQL Server Management Studio has stopped working

When I click on the “View problem details” link, we can get a few unhelpful details about “CLR20r3“, “ssms.exe“, “Microsoft.VisualStudio.Platform.VSEditor” and “System.NullReferenceException“, thank you very much.

After much googling with Bing, all solutions pointed to restarting the machine. Well, I wanted to avoid that, as my server is in production.

I thought, well, let’s be smart and delete a few folders in my %AppData% directory. It can’t get worse and might solve the issue.

It did get worse. I couldn’t even start Management Studio anymore, and a friendly error message “The directory name is invalid” mentioning “mscorlib” as the source of the problem.

I deleted the whole local profile, it solved the “mscorlib” issue. But my original “CLR20r3” was still there.

And then my eyes wandered in the bottom right corner of the screen, and noticed a weird asterisk (starlike symbol) in the language preferences tray:

Language Preferences Dialog

Language Preferences Dialog

Mmm, let’s switch that to “ENG“. Start SQL Server Management Studio again and … tada! It works! Problem solved!

Wonderful. No idea where this asterisk comes from, and why the editor crashes because of that.

I hope this will help someone out there.

This entry was posted in SQL Server, Tip, Windows and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to [SOLVED] Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Management Studio Crash when opening a new query window

  1. Martín Mora says:

    Thank you very much, that worked for me 🙂

  2. Thank you very much! It works!

  3. Luis Rivera says:

    That works very well, follow the same path you did, until I read this wasn’t sure on how to fix that.

  4. Thank you so much That was the solution to my problem also.
    great article. at first i thought is was a joke. but it did really work.

    Thanks

  5. Nizamul says:

    For me (as a new user ) its helpful if put all the steps with details. Because Start >run> %AppData% (Administrator > Appdata>Roaming ) Here I found many folder .If I delete all what problem can happen…….because my server also in production .

  6. Rodrigo says:

    it’s works 😀 Thanks

  7. Interesting. Doesn’t seem to be my case. First off my language preferences don’t appear on the tray. And when I do check in control panel I find it does read “English United States” no *

  8. This problem went away in my case after we applied all WINDOWS patches. I am not sure which exact patch killed it though.

  9. Ricardo Tapia says:

    Lamentablemente hice todo lo que indican. La única solución fue reinstalar el “Management Studio”. En mi caso fue una la versión 2014 de SQL que presento el mismo problema.

  10. John Edward says:

    Muchas Gracias!! fue de mucha ayuda tu recomendación para soluciónar el inconveniente.

  11. Brian says:

    Nice that works for me, thanks.

  12. Diego Rios says:

    Excelente amigo, como llegaste a esa conclusión, si nos puedes compartir esa solución.

    Gracias!!

  13. Wintoro Jati says:

    thank you, it’s work

  14. Amol Jadhav says:

    it’s works😀 Thanks

  15. ayoub lamrini says:

    Thank you very much! It works!

  16. Harry says:

    This is awesome ! … Fixed my issue.
    Unbelievable !

Leave a Reply

